//
you're reading...
Pushing Past Fear, Uncategorized

10 Minutes to Discovering Your WHY.

Character values

People don’t buy what you do, they buy why you do it.  – Simon Sinek

Have you ever met someone who you soon begin to describe as a “kindred soul?”  Almost immediately after meeting, you tell yourself that  ” this person just gets it.”

Do you know why this happens?  It happens because you both share the same character values.

This delightful phenomenon occurs because you are experiencing an overlap of  shared soul strengths.

These people are the ones who inspire you to love your work.  These people allow you spend your creative hours up to your eyebrows in meaning, and urge you to produce more and more of what you do that makes the world better.

Wouldn’t it be great if you could work with these folks?  Or, dare you say it, work with them all the time?

How would that change your world?

One problem, though.  Can you state your character strengths?  Can you speak clearly about the values that energize your soul?

What is it that I do?  I what I do just about getting things done or do I live for it?

Do you know why you do what you do?

Many of us don’t.  At least not yet.

That’s where Dr. Martin Seligman comes in.  Dr. Seligman has developed a way to gain insights into yourself and the world around you through scientifically tested questionnaires, surveys, and scales.  They are all free on the University of Pennsylvania website.  All you need to do is fill out the simple and free registration.

Take the VIA Survey of Character Strengths right here and you can find great insight into your why.

You can also take a shorter version of survey, but I recommend the full version.  You can complete it in under 10 minutes, and it is much more thorough and helpful.  (Thanks to Catherine Caine for showing me these great tools.)

BTW, my top Character Strengths in order are:

  1. Capacity to love and be loved.
  2. Spirituality, sense of purpose, and faith.
  3. Love of learning.

We will look at how to leverage our strengths into doing work that matters in later posts.

If you are still unconvinced how important it is to understand the WHY that drives your best work, watch this TEDx Talk by Simon Sinek.

I would love to read your results in the Character Strengths surveys, or your response to Simon Sinek’s talk above.

As always, if this post has been helpful or challenging in any way, please share the love by clicking one or more of the buttons below.  Thanks.

Photo credit http://www.flickr.com/photos/lululemonathletica/
About Bill Todd

Bill Todd is a spiritual director and speaker living in Franklin TN. He is patiently loved by Jody Todd, and their children Kaleigh, Hannah, and Liam.

Discussion

10 thoughts on “10 Minutes to Discovering Your WHY.

  1. Thanks for the fun, welcome and informative break from the work day, Bill!
    Mine were:
    1. Capacity to love and be loved
    2. Spirituality, sense of purpose and faith
    3. Curiosity and interest in the world.
    (Love of learning was #5) No wonder I like your blog! 🙂

    Posted by Kerri Williams | May 10, 2011, 5:10 pm
  2. Yes! Glad to sense your presence in the world! Off to take quizzes! I am starting a new project tomorrow that will be interesting to see where it lands.

    Posted by Tina b | May 10, 2011, 9:32 pm
  3. 1 ~ Gratitude.
    2 ~ Appreciation for beauty and excellence.
    3 ~ Spirituality, sense of purpose and faith.

    A little surprising but, as always apparently, most grateful for this insight. Glad to have you on the radar.

    Posted by Amy Harkness | May 10, 2011, 10:12 pm
  4. 1 – Appreciation for beauty and excellence
    2 – Social Intelligence
    3 – Capacity to Love & Be Loved

    The rest were all over the map! I found it interesting that spiritual was 16. Which actually reflects where my attention is at these days – definitely not in the spiritual department. I have been unapologetically unspiritual. I found the key to this was ‘attention’ what are you paying attention to right now in your life. I have been craving beauty and creativity like mad the last month or so.

    Posted by tina | May 11, 2011, 4:35 pm
    • I think that our current interests/environment does affect our answers. I tend to take multiple versions of a test, and then look for the consistent themes.

      Posted by Bill Todd | May 11, 2011, 5:27 pm
      • You know I had to post spiritual is low because someone who doesn’t have it in the top 3 will think something is wrong with them. When reality may be the opposite – my attention is else where and does not mean I am loved less by God – my attention is on beauty – lets think- who created beauty? Am I breathless at the sight of it and whisper thanks to God? You bet!

        Posted by Tina b | May 12, 2011, 5:30 pm
  5. Mine were:

    1. Capacity to love and be loved
    2. Curiosity and interest in the world
    3. Forgiveness and mercy

    Some of the questions were eye-opening. For example, I don’t believe that all members of a group should be given a voice. I have worked on too many committees. I have been the ignorant one, so I stayed quiet. But I have served with truly ignorant people who get too much voice. I think they should keep still and learn.

    The question about cheating and lying hit me between the the eyes. I will cheat and lie in order to hurt someone I trusted who cheated on me. That’s actually sound game theory. It’s called “tit for tat.” It’s ultimately successful.

    Good excericse, Bill.

    Posted by Fred Miller | June 9, 2011, 10:37 am
  6. 1. Learning
    2. Creativity/Ingenuity
    3. Spirituality

    Ok Swamie… tell me what this means

    Posted by Jim Drake | June 9, 2011, 11:19 am

Leave a Reply

Rants, questionable humor and band recommendations are included at no cost. Because that's what I do.

Join 816 other followers

Follow Me on Pinterest
Follow bill_todd on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 816 other followers

