//
you're reading...
Pushing Past Fear

Pushing Past Fear to Offer Your Best Work

“But is that your best work?” – Catherine Caine

 

 


How would you describe the moment where you knew that you were doing your best work?

Not your best work according to some external evaluative grid, but work that satisfied your soul at the deepest level.  When was a time that you pushed past fear, and your expectations, and the expectations of others, and offered work that came directly from your heart, genuinely expressing wisdom that you have gained?

Let me give you an idea of what I’m talking about…

I am walking across a dark parking lot, having locked the doors to the trailer that we use as a classroom.  It’s good that no one else is around, because I couldn’t talk if I had to.  A young guy in one of my classes pulled my aside just moments ago and said “for all the times I have heard it talked about, I never really understood how much God loves me just like I am today.  Tonight, I got it.”

I am on a phone call, helping a worship pastor recognize what is being formed in her spirit, and clarifying how these new developments will affect her vocational and spiritual journey. Listening, untangling and guiding through confusion or apprehension, I know that she is moving into a season of unprecedented effectiveness and soul satisfaction.

Sitting in the common area of a rural retreat center, I get to listen to a talented legislative staffer describe his vision for combining his skill set with his passion for serving under-represented rural Americans.  Our relationship is a long one, and his vision came to full clarity during the retreat.

In a conference room in a St. Louis hotel, a group of law enforcement officers talk about their struggles reconciling their personal spiritual journeys with the harsh realities of their work.  As a speaker, I am in the privileged position of being both a resource and a source of support.

In these moments, I know that I am doing my best work.  I know this because the work comes from the best part of me.

I was talking with Catherine Caine last night about new business possibilities.  Her lovely Australian accent and the birds chirping outside the window in Brisbane set a very soothing tone, even over Skype.  After listening to my idea, she challenged me with  the best, most pointed question.  “But is that your best work?”

The question made me think very hard.

I had to admit that particular idea would not be my best work.  But I know what my best work is.

There are a lot of things that I can do very well… I can efficiently move through all the steps of running a retail store, a bar, a restaurant, a ministry.  I can craft a good strategic plan and I can say all the right things.  But my best work is never found in the project.

My best work is always about the people.

I urge and equip people to do their best work.

At my core I am a teacher, a communicator, and a guide.

Working with people is like air to me.

Talking with people is the soul fuel that makes me run.

So, I’ll ask the question again – how would you describe the moments where you knew you were doing your best work?


About Bill Todd

Bill Todd is a spiritual director and speaker living in Franklin TN. He is patiently loved by Jody Todd, and their children Kaleigh, Hannah, and Liam.

Discussion

7 thoughts on “Pushing Past Fear to Offer Your Best Work

  1. Love it!

    Posted by Amy Harkness | April 1, 2011, 6:33 am
  2. You got it now. Cheering for you is all I have, your deepest self has always been amazing,
    Woo shh and score!

    Posted by T | April 1, 2011, 7:02 am
    • Thanks T.

      And I’m going to be my pushy self and ask you again.

      When are you in the heart of your best work?

      Posted by Bill Todd | April 1, 2011, 7:03 am
      • Push away, I will push back to say I am in it writing and giving others a home to write, working on a team to publish students and working w people to understand this language we live in, so close I can taste the sweet spot.
        You will laugh, did a multiple intelligence test in front of the class last night, all words and people are the results, no numbers or logic, so the best is coming

        Posted by T | April 1, 2011, 9:46 am
  3. My answer is similar to yours, but with a slightly different focus. I know I’m doing my best work when I’m doing something better than I know how to do it. That’s when I know that God’s actually doing the work through me. That’s my best work, and it almost always happens in unprompted, unscripted spiritual conversation. Most often if I spend too much time thinking about something, I’m not doing my best work.

    Posted by Brad Harris | April 1, 2011, 8:14 am
  4. Bill,
    This was good. It reinforced a discovery I’ve made about me over the past several months – I’m not at my best when alone. I can be good – enough, but not at my best. My best is when I’m allowing God’s blessing to flow through me and onto others. Helping them solve their problems. Identifying the resources they need and then helping to get them connected. And when I can’t do that, I introduce them to people who can. I can’t do that when I’m alone. I need community. You have been very instrumental in getting me to where I am. I thank you for your friendship, your mentorship and for being you.

    Posted by GDV | April 1, 2011, 6:52 pm

Leave a Reply

Rants, questionable humor and band recommendations are included at no cost. Because that's what I do.

Join 817 other followers

Follow Me on Pinterest
Follow bill_todd on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 817 other followers

