//
you're reading...
About Classes, Fathered by God

Father Issues

In April of 2009 I went with Jody and a group of other man and women to hear John Eldredge speak on his book Fathered by God. I left that night with only one disappointment – the material to lead a group through the concepts was not yet available.

But it is now. And that’s why a group of men will be going through the study at hopepark church. We begin this Tuesday evening February 16th.

I have always said that I can bring a room of any number of men to silence by asking one simple question: “What are the words that you wish you could hear from your father?”

In the Fathered by God study, Eldredge tackles this question, looking not only at our biological fathers, but also asking the question of God Himself.

As a dad whose own father is entering into retirement, who has one child graduating from high school this spring, one more beginning to drive and a third child in the 1st grade, you had better believe these questions matter to me.

Here’s how another pastor responded to this study. The words are taken from his review on Amazon.

I wish every man in the world could read this book!,
This book helped me understand my whole life, right down to age 62, my struggles and questions as an unbeliever, later a believer, and now a pastor/professor. Now I see many things with a completely different perspective.
I love the way Eldredge uses “epic vocabulary” such as warrior, king, sage, etc. and applies them all to everyday life, in a way that makes the mundane sublime and purposeful.
For years, I struggled to “step up” but felt inadequate. I appreciate Eldredge’s honesty and transparency. I know I am not alone. The book has challenged me to live out daily (the life that) I have always dreamed of living.
Quit sucking it up and stuffing your pain. Read the book.
By Michael D. Thomas “BaylorSpanishProf” (Waco, TX United States)

If you are in the Nashville TN area and want to join us, you can do so HERE.

If you would like to follow my thoughts about the course, I would love for you to continue to join me here on the blog. Feel free to comment and contribute to the conversation.

Links:

YouTube

Fathered by God site

I’m twittering over @bill_todd.

About Bill Todd

Bill Todd is a spiritual director and speaker living in Franklin TN. He is patiently loved by Jody Todd, and their children Kaleigh, Hannah, and Liam.

Discussion

8 thoughts on “Father Issues

  1. Bill,
    I’ve struggled with this very thing for my entire life and you can be sure that I will be getting this book. And, I will be following anything and everything you share from the study. I wish I could be there.

    Brice

    Posted by Brice | February 15, 2010, 3:08 am
  2. not a huge Eldredge fan, but I will look forward to hearing feed back about this book. May God move among the guys in your group!

    Posted by rob | February 15, 2010, 7:43 am
  3. Bill,
    I have been out of men’s ministry at Woodcrest since your departure. However I jumped back in this spring to take Fathered by God. I am a hugh John Eldredge fan. I think the material is an excellent bridge. I facilitated Way of the Wild Heart and it was the same material, but without the bridge. I think in the new material, John does a much better job of relating the sturggle that we all face. I am enjoying the material very much.
    Liked the Lent focus. Being a old Catholic, I enjoy this time of the liturgical year. Take care dude.
    Tony

    Posted by Tony D | February 17, 2010, 9:18 am
    • We had a great first class. Let me know how the course goes for you guys. Miss you.

      Posted by redbackpack | February 18, 2010, 10:59 am
      • We’ll the first class we were all encouraged to bring our man things. Chairs, tool, coolers etc. We were thinking of bringing a burn barrel for the middle of the room, but I think there was a problem with something called insurance. We had a good interaction and realized how unfathered most of us had been. Great group of guys. Dan Simon is in the group. I’ll keep you posted and say hi to everyone

        Posted by Tony | February 18, 2010, 11:11 am
      • Burn barrel. lol. You’re the man.

        Posted by redbackpack | February 18, 2010, 11:19 am

Leave a Reply

Rants, questionable humor and band recommendations are included at no cost. Because that's what I do.

Join 817 other followers

Follow Me on Pinterest
Follow bill_todd on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 817 other followers

