//
you're reading...
Influences

Pardon Johnny Cash

My friend Tony Dichiro passed this on to me.  I enjoyed is so much that I have to share it.
Pardon Johnny Cash
by John Fischer
You have to pardon Johnny Cash.
Johnny Cash was always well acquainted with his dark side. His whole life was a struggle with his inner demons. But still he struggled, and that says volumes. Someone who has no conscience doesn’t struggle; they are just bad.

“So I find this law at work [in me]: When I want to do good, evil is right there with me” (Romans 7:21 NIV).

You have to pardon Johnny Cash.
He just couldn’t stop singing and talking about redemption. He got it. He knew that heaven wasn’t the place for a bunch of good people to go; it was a place a bunch of struggling no-name sinners were ushered into after all the good people turned out to be no-shows. Lo and behold, it was a place for him through no merit of his own.
“What a wretched man I am! Who will rescue me from this body of death? Thanks be to God—through Jesus Christ our Lord” (Romans 7:24 NIV)

You have to pardon Johnny Cash.
He was always on the side of those who knew they needed pardoning, and from his own pain, he reached out to them. He was a most excellent ambassador of reconciliation.
“Ah, I’d love to wear a rainbow every day,
And tell the world that everything’s OK,
But I’ll try to carry off a little darkness on my back.
‘Til things are brighter, I’m the man in black.”
You have to pardon Johnny Cash.

God did. And now the City of Starkville, Mississippi is pardoning him, too—every year, in fact, but only for 364 days. That’s so they can have a festival in Johnny’s honor every year and do it again. Not a bad idea.

JohnnyCash

So, who are the iconic figures in your life?

About Bill Todd

Bill Todd is a spiritual director and speaker living in Franklin TN. He is patiently loved by Jody Todd, and their children Kaleigh, Hannah, and Liam.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Rants, questionable humor and band recommendations are included at no cost. Because that's what I do.

Join 816 other followers

Follow Me on Pinterest
Follow bill_todd on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 816 other followers

