//
you're reading...
About Life

Rainy Days and Fireworks in Nashville.

fireworks_poster2

Look Liam, all of those fireworks are for you, buddy.

This past summer I went to my first Nashville Sounds game with my wife and my son. It was just about a perfect evening for a ball game, high 70’s under a blue sky. Our team won, Liam got to run the bases, and we enjoyed the great fireworks that they have on Friday nights.

Look Liam, all of those fireworks are for you buddy.

Exactly one year prior we saw the fireworks at Greer Stadium as well. Only we didn’t know that they were coming from Greer Stadium. We just knew that there were fireworks on the east side of Interstate 65. Liam saw them, ooohed and ahhhed and awesomed. He asked what they were for. We didn’t know, so we told him that the fireworks were for him, to welcome him to Nashville. I wanted that little lie to be a fun one, a silly one that you share with a six year old. But it was really a bittersweet lie, and one that covered up more than a little apprehension.

This time last year, we were driving past the stadium to our new home in the hotel. A really nice hotel, but a hotel all the same. We had just packed the 17 years of our life in Columbia MO and moved it into storage. The home we had built was now on the market. We kept out what clothes and supplies we needed, and headed into our new life here.

Look Liam, all of those fireworks are for you, buddy. I just wish that they had not come at the end of such an emotional day.

Which is why it was so nice to sit inside the stadium, in the place that has now become our home. To know that a year has passed, and that we could enjoy the fireworks the way they were intended to be enjoyed.
Look Liam, all of those fireworks are for you, buddy.

And on rainy Sunday afternoons here in our home in Nashville, these are the things that I think of.

So how about you? What symbols mark major transitions in your life?

About Bill Todd

Bill Todd is a spiritual director and speaker living in Franklin TN. He is patiently loved by Jody Todd, and their children Kaleigh, Hannah, and Liam.

Discussion

8 thoughts on “Rainy Days and Fireworks in Nashville.

  1. Symbol of transition? I believe you were right there in the middle of it – baptism. :o)

    Posted by Debbie | October 4, 2009, 7:40 pm
  2. Sad to say, but powerful nonetheless (I like typing that word alltogether)…would have to be my husband’s various ailments & then life threatening surgeries..each one has taught me again & again how I have no control nor grip in this life..I am left to trust & fight the fear of loneliness each time these happen. Seems to be the reminder bout every 3 -5 year sanity check. This is not a sanity program I recommend, please stay far away from it.

    Great post – by far my fave…

    Posted by Tina | October 4, 2009, 10:03 pm
    • Yeah, but those episodes have allowed you two to figure out what causes the episodes. Are you seeing progress through the diet changes?

      Posted by redbackpack | October 4, 2009, 10:43 pm
      • some progress..strange that now I crave beef like a freak once a week since we have eliminated that source..seriously a hamburger is like beef gold! It’s really a random disease & I need more resources to understand it. My latest idea is create a cookbook based on it..but we will see how long that idea sticks around..I really need about 10 people working full time to pull off half the ideas in my head 🙂

        Posted by T | October 6, 2009, 10:50 pm
  3. Symbol of transition…I think I might still be looking for it.
    Earlier in my life it was my bright orange BMW. Long story short, but I packed it full of all of my stuff one day in 1994, headed from Wash DC to Miss to be with my then Fiancee, no job and a little money in hand. Upon arriving to Miss, we broke up.
    It led to a much better life but every time I see an orange BMW I think of it.
    I think symbols come every so many years. I look forward to the next one.

    Posted by Joseph | October 5, 2009, 12:41 pm
  4. Hi Bill

    Happy New Year to you! I trust you are having an enjoyable day. My name is Todd Stepp and I work for BooksChristian.com, here in Franklin, TN. We are a Christian owned & operated company that sells over 200,000 Christian products.

    I have visited redbackpack.wordpress.com/ and have noticed that you post book reviews on your blog. I wanted to see if you would be interested in partnering with us, enabling visitors to your blog to purchase books that you review, as well as other books that you may suggest to them (books of the day etc.). In return we would pay you 9% on every sale made. There is very little work that would need to be done on your end, as we provide all the tools to create links and codes that you can post on your blog.

    I would love to discuss this further with you at your earliest convenience. I look forward to hearing from you!

    Regards,

    Todd Stepp


    todd stepp
    bookschristian
    e: todd.stepp@bookschristian.com
    p: 615.497.9808
    aim: mctoddstepp

    Posted by Todd Stepp | January 21, 2010, 6:15 pm

Leave a Reply

Rants, questionable humor and band recommendations are included at no cost. Because that's what I do.

Join 816 other followers

Follow Me on Pinterest
Follow bill_todd on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 816 other followers

