//
you're reading...
Awakenings

A response to today’s headlines.

Recent headlines about adultery by elected officials and public figures reminded me of a leader lesson I wrote several years ago. I revisited this teaching today in my own quiet time, and offer it to you in the same spirit.

David is one of the most recognizable men in the Bible. He was declared t(by God) to be a man after God’s own heart. What did he do to be that kind of person? How did he live? David’s story is told fully in 1 & 2 Samuel, but the Psalms reveal the inner person of David. Here David sang joyfully, prayed sorrowfully and acknowledged his weaknesses.

Read Psalm 51. This Psalm was written to record the time David was caught in an adulterous relationship. David turns back to God and his inner thoughts and feelings are recorded in the Psalm. Note the three key movements about David’s relationship with God in prayer.

I come to you with a clean heart.
I will not confine you.
I will submit to you.

David prays and expresses his anguish to God. Where in this Psalm do you see David moving through these three stages?

Looking at David’s personal thoughts and heart towards God reveals much about the relationship he had with God. Something within David was moved to always turn back to God and something within God was moved towards David. David records the relationship and openness in this way, “A broken and repentant heart, O God, you will not despise (v17).” It seems as if David is telling us, God can’t resist us when we have placed ourselves openly and honestly before him. By revealing ourselves openly, with a clean heart that does not confine him and seeks his ways, we can bring pleasure to God and find that our relationship grows.

1. How often do you enter prayer as a conversation with God? How does it feel? honest, awkward, or something else?
2. Which of the three movements do you see as key to your growth in prayer? Why?
3. How can you get better at distinguishing God’s voice from the other voices that you hear?

Open Heart

About Bill Todd

Bill Todd is a spiritual director and speaker living in Franklin TN. He is patiently loved by Jody Todd, and their children Kaleigh, Hannah, and Liam.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “A response to today’s headlines.

  1. This is why I ABSOLUTELY love David! He’s been my favorite person from Biblical times, bar none. The way that he is completely human in his actions throughout his life, shows us that no one is perfect, and we all make mistakes…especially those in high positions. But, like you said, it also shows his heart and how vulnerable he was with God….I love this!!! Whenever I need to just pour out my heart to God, I often go back to the book of Psalm and read David’s feelings too. Sooooooo AWESOME!!!! Great post!!!

    Posted by moweezle | July 3, 2009, 9:42 am
  2. to your 3rd question this is where I am really having a hard time right now….which voice is God’s? Which direction is the one he wants me to follow? Which action is the one he wants me to take? This is especially tough in my career path decisions….

    Posted by Joseph | July 4, 2009, 6:47 am
  3. Pretty cool post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say
    that I have really liked reading your blog posts. Anyway
    I’ll be subscribing to your blog and I hope you post again soon!

    Posted by LnddMiles | July 24, 2009, 12:50 am
  4. “I will not confine you” – there lies my problem. I am a total control freak and my friend not to long ago was telling me how self control was the only control God ever permitted us to have. So then when I try to control all the “factors” in my life nothing ever goes well. I don’t really try to control God, I try to figure out what He is doing which then of course is me controlling or confining God to what or how or when or who I need from Him. Dang it.

    Posted by kristiapplesauce | August 4, 2009, 2:30 pm

Leave a Reply

Rants, questionable humor and band recommendations are included at no cost. Because that's what I do.

Join 816 other followers

Follow Me on Pinterest
Follow bill_todd on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 816 other followers

